Introduction > CALOHEE  Learning Outcomes Reference Framework


CALOHEE offers a template and menu as to what can be learned in the context of a degree programme in a given subject area (in our case: History), so as to provide clarity and guidance for programme design, delivery and quality assurance. The Learning Outcomes Reference Framework is a set of general descriptors organised on the basis of ‘dimensions’. A dimension indicates a constructive key element, which defines a subject area. Each subject area is based on a multiple of dimensions meant to serve as a sound basis for defining the programme learning outcomes of individual degree programmes of the first and second cycle (Bachelor and Master).

For History the dimensions are defined as following:

Dimension 1) Human beings: cultures and societies;

Dimension 2) Texts and contexts;

Dimension 3) Theories and Concepts;

Dimension 4) Interdisciplinarity;

Dimension 5) Initiative and Creativity;

Dimension 6) Communication;

Dimension 7) Professional Development.

The Assessment Reference Framework offers a breakdown of the subject area general descriptors in measurable learning outcomes statements, normally each dimension contains from 1 to 4 sub-dimensions.

As for the purposes of the ENCODE project we have focused on Dimension 2) Text and contexts and to the specific learning outcomes statements of the Assessment Reference Framework related to this dimension. For graduates in the Humanities, concentrating on ancient writing cultures, this is the most relevant Dimension as for knowledge and knowledge application.

Beside the focus on specific specialised knowledge we have also considered learning outcomes which address the most relevant transversal competences necessary to bridge with the Digital dimension and namely Dimension 4) Interdisciplinarity, Dimension 5) Initiative and creativity and Dimension 6) Communication.

The CALOHEE Framework targets the design of programmes at the level 6 and 7 of the European Qualification Framework for LifeLong Learning (EQF for LLL) and takes into account both the EQF descriptors and the descriptors for first and second cycle of the Framework for Qualifications of the European Higher Education Area. In fact while the QF for the EHEA distinguishes for the first and second cycle five dimensions (the so called Dublin Descriptors), ranging from knowledge to lifelong learning, the current EQF for LLL makes a distinction between three elements, ‘knowledge’, ‘skills’ and ‘autonomy and responsibility’. The CALOHEE Framework combines and reconciles the two different approaches into a matrix.

For the purposes of our work we have considered the CALOHEE descriptors for level 6 (First Cycle - Bachelor) as ‘entrance’ competences for the ENCODE Intensive Training, while we have referred to the Dig.Comp 2.2 Framework to define the specific competences to be provided during the training.

In the feedback questionnaires on training results however, non surprisingly, we have noticed that hands on training on Digital competences has generated an improvement also in the subject specific competences producing more awareness of the discipline (Epigraphy, Papyrology, Codicology etc.) methodology, deep understanding of the writings aspects and textual criticism including the material and contextualisation aspects and enhancement of the heuristic, analytic and interpretive skills.

As entry requirements for our training we have thus adapted the descriptors in appendix.